## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

HELD: August 28, 1995

## THE STATE OF TEXAS

## FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

## COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 28<sup>th</sup> day of August 1995, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in CALLED SESSION at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

KENNETH JAGGERS PRESIDENT
EDSON REYNOLDS VICE PRESIDENT
BILLY M. JORDAN SECRETARY
BILL ELLISTON DIRECTOR
GLENN MORRIS DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: None.

Also present were David Weidman, Walt Sears, Jr., E. C. Withers, and Shirley Maples. Attached is a register of interested parties who met with the Board.

NOTICE of this meeting was given, stating the time, place and purpose, all as required by Chapter 551 of the Government Code.

INVOCATION was given by Glenn Morris.

E. C. Withers and Walt Sears, Jr. presented to the Board for consideration, a proposed Water Purchase Contract with Pilgrim's Pride Corporation. Several items of correspondence were discussed and are attached hereto.

Listed below are the representatives of various organizations and interested parties who spoke to the Board concerning the water sales contract:

Charles Lowry Economic Development Corporation
Susan Nugent East Texas communities Network

Wayne Foster Franklin County Commissioners Court and Franklin County Industrial

Foundation

Mike Edwards City of Mount Vernon

Mike Harper Mt. Vernon Independent School District Alford Flanagan Titus County Industrial Foundation

Senator Bill Ratliff

K. P. Lester

Jerry Hopper City of Winnsboro

Milton Kelley

Dave Reinhartsen Hickory Hill Homeowners Association

After considerable discussion, MOTION was made by Bill Elliston to sign the contract with Pilgrim's Pride Coporation. The Motion died for lack of a second.

MOTION was made by Glenn Morris, and SECONDED by Edson Reynolds, that the Water Purchase Contract with Pilgrim's Pride Corporation be tabled for 60 days. The President put the question and the vote was as follows:

AYE: Glenn Morris, Edson Reynolds and Billy Jordan.

NOES: Bill Elliston

ABSTAINED: Kenneth Jaggers.

The President announced that the motion had carried.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES approved this the 11<sup>th</sup> day of September 1995.

Kenneth Jaggers, President Edson Reynolds, Vice President Billy M. Jordan, Secretary Bill Elliston, Director Glenn Morris, Director